As summertime approaches, teenagers across Louisiana will be seeking positions in Louisiana restaurants and other businesses. It is estimated that more than 60,000 minors are employed in the state of Louisiana, representing just three percent of the total workforce of 1,885,310 according the 2013 Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates for Louisiana.
The Louisiana Workforce Commission has a two-part process for employing a minor as outlined below under Employment Certificates.
Employment Certificates (work permits)
Minors 14 & 15 years of age MAY NOT
Minors 17 years of age, who have not graduated from high school MAY NOT:
All minors MUST have a 30 minute uninterrupted break period within every five hours of employment. ALL MINORS SHALL RECEIVE AN EIGHT HOUR REST BREAK AT THE END OF EACH WORK DAY, BEFORE THE COMMENCEMENT OF THE NEXT DAY OF WORK.
Occupations permitted for 14 & 15 year-old minors
The Louisiana Workforce Commission state-mandated Louisiana Minor Labor Law Placard posting can be downloaded and printed at www.laworks.net.
For questions, please contact Debbie LaRocca, Labor Programs Director, Louisiana Workforce Commission, (225) 342-0275, firstname.lastname@example.org.